Castles

Ok. So, castles. I have finally realized that I don’t really get them. I have seen probably a dozen European castles in my life and they all seem exactly the same. The same dull tapestries, gold plated fleur de lis and empty bedrooms up and down Europe. The same blatant gluttony and greed fills ever state room, reception room, dining hall room, writing room, breakfast room, sun room, winter room, room for a room. I always pay the $20 cover price and then wonder what and why I am looking at what I am currently looking at. Castles are nice to look at from the outside and very nice to take pictures of if somebody you know is in it, but I really need to remember not to go inside. Unless I can see real princes in there, I’ll meet you at the bar when you’re done with your tour.

One thought on “Castles

Leave a Reply

